Safeguarding Your Account

Keep your password confidential at all times
Your user ID is like a key to your online safe. We identify you using your User ID and Password. As such, protecting your online identity is very important and you need to safeguard your password at all times.

Important tips on how you can protect your password:
  • Never use the same password for other web-based services such as for email, online shopping, digital identity and other online subscription services.
  • Do not choose a password that is easily guessed, like your telephone number, NRIC number, date of birth, User ID, or other associated data. You should select a robust and unique password to make it difficult for anyone to guess.
  • Do not use sequential numbers (eg. 123456) or the same number more than twice (eg. 121145).
  • Do not share or reveal your password to anyone.
  • Memorise your password. Do not write down your password or store it in computer hard-disk, diskette, mobile phone or other insecure means.
  • Do not use your password when someone else can see you keying it in.
  • Before entering your User ID and password, you should always check that the site you are visiting belongs to Tokio Marine Life Insurance Singapore by verifying that the URL displayed in the browser is correct.
  • When performing online transactions, always ensure that the URL is preceded by "https".
    • For Chrome,IE and Firefox browsers, a security icon that looks like a lock or key should appear in the browser.
  • Always use the latest recommended Internet browser such as those that support 128-bit encryption so that you have the most updated security features available.
  • Change your password regularly (minimum 8 to maximum 15 alpha numeric).
  • Change your password immediately if you suspect it has been exposed to others or the moment you suspect any unauthorised access.

Note : No staff of Tokio Marine Life Insurance Singapore should ever ask you for your password for whatever reasons.

Always log off your online session
Log off your online session whenever you leave your computer, even if it is for a short while. This immediately ends your Intranet session and prevents further transactions from being carried out without a fresh login. You should also shut down your computer, when not in use, to prevent unauthorised access to your computer.

Do not store your User ID and password when using Internet Explorer browsers
In Microsoft Internet Explorer, the "AutoComplete" function stores and lists possible matches from entries that you have typed previously. You can prevent any User ID and password from being stored in Internet Explorer by de-activating the "AutoComplete" function:

  • Launch your Internet Explorer browser and click on "Tools" > "Internet Options" > "Content".
  • Under "Personal Information", click on "AutoComplete".
  • Uncheck "User names and passwords on forms" and click on "Clear Passwords".
  • Click on "OK" to save the changes.

Do not disclose your personal information to suspicious websites
To prevent your personal information from being captured by bogus websites, you should not disclose your personal information to little-known or suspicious websites.

Use a computer/ device that you trust
You should not use computers/ devices which cannot be trusted such as shared or public computers, especially computers located in unusual and bizarre places. If you have to, always clear your browser's cache after each session on such computers to ensure your account information is removed. For Internet Explorer users, please also ensure that the "AutoComplete" function is deactivated after use.

Clear your browser's cache and history after each session
Temporary files stored in your computer called cache files and history can retain information and data. Always remember to clear your browser's cache and history after each session so that your account information is removed, especially if you are using a shared computer.

This is how you can clear your cache memory for the following browser :

Internet Explorer 9.0 and Above

  1. Select Tools (via the Gear Icon) > Safety > Delete browsing history...
    • If the menu bar is hidden, press Alt to make it visible.
  2. Deselect Preserve Favorites website data, and select:
    • Temporary Internet files or Temporary Internet files and website files
    • Cookies or Cookies and website data
    • History
  3. Click Delete. You will see a confirmation at the bottom of the window when the process is complete.
  4. Exit/quit all browser windows and re-open the browser.

Chrome

  1. In the browser bar, enter:
    • chrome://settings/clearBrowserData
  2. Select the following:
    • Browsing history
    • Download history
    • Cookies and other site and plug-in data
    • Cached images and files
  3. From the Obliterate the following items from:drop-down menu, you can
    choose the period of time for which you want to clear cached information.
    To clear your entire cache, select the beginning of time.
  4. Click Clear browsing data.
  5. Exit/quit all browser windows and re-open the browser.

FireFox

  1. From the History menu, select Clear Recent History.
    • If the menu bar is hidden, press Alt to make it visible.
  2. From the Time range to clear: drop-down menu, select the desired range; to clear your entire cache, select Everything.
  3. Click Clear Now.
  4. Exit/quit all browser windows and re-open the browser.

Disable the "File and Printer Sharing" feature on your Operating System
This prevents an external party from gaining illegal control or access to your computer. You can refer to your computer vendor or instruction manual on how this can be done.

Let us know immediately if there's a problem!
If you notice any unusual/unauthorised access, please change your password or notify us immediately. Where necessary, your Intranet access can be suspended at your request to protect your interest.